FEMA Announces FY18 Funding Opportunity: Flood Mitigation Assistance and Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant Programs

8/6/2018

FEMA has posted the Fiscal Year 2018 (FY18) Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) announcements for the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) grant programs on www.grants.gov. These NOFOs provide an overview of the grant programs and details about the agency's funding priorities and review process. FEMA will offer a series of webinars in August and September on the FY18 NOFOs for prospective applicants and how to use the Mitigation eGrants system that is used to process grant applications. Applicants may attend any session. Upcoming sessions are listed below. View the complete webinar schedule.
NOFO Overview 
  • Wednesday, August 15 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)
  • Thursday, August 16 at 12 pm Eastern Time (11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific)
For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/nofo18/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.
E-Grants For Beginners
Primarily intended for sub-applicants and new users.
  • Tuesday, August 21, 2018 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific
For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/beginnersegrants/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.                                        
E-Grants For Advanced Users
Primarily intended for grant applicants, experience sub-applicants, and power users.
  • Wednesday, August 22 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)
  • Thursday, August 23 at 12 pm Eastern Time (11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific)
For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/advancedegrants/  and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.
FEMA will open the FY18 application period on October 1, 2018. Eligible applicants must apply for funding through the Mitigation eGrants system on the FEMA Grants Portal accessible at https://portal.fema.gov.  All applications must be submitted no later than 3 pm Eastern Time on January 31, 2019.
Program Funding
Flood Mitigation Assistance:
FMA grants are available to implement measures to reduce or eliminate risk of severe repetitive and repetitive flood damage to buildings insured by the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).  In FY18, $160 million is available for FMA grants. There is a set-aside of $70 million for community advance assistance and flood mitigation projects. The remainder of the FY18 FMA grants will continue to focus on reducing or eliminating the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings and structures, flood hazard mitigation planning, as well as technical assistance for applicants who were awarded FMA grant program funds totaling at least $1 million in FY17.
Further information is in the NOFO: DHS-18-MT-029-000-99 and FY 2018 FMA Fact Sheet.
Pre-Disaster Mitigation:
The goal of the PDM grant program is to reduce overall risk to the population and structures, while at the same time reducing reliance on federal funding from Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act) disaster declarations. $235.2 million is available for FY18 PDM grants. FEMA will provide allocations to states and territories which fulfill statutory requirements and will set aside $15 million for federally recognized tribes. The balance of funds will be for the competitive mitigation activities with a major focus on resilient infrastructure. In addition, Advance Assistance activities are eligible and the highest priority for FY18 traditional competitive sub-applications is multi-state/tribal mitigation initiatives. FEMA will select eligible planning and project sub-applications that limit duplication of other HMA programs by prioritizing funding in areas without post-disaster funding available through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP). As directed by the Congressional appropriations language, FEMA will use the majority of the PDM funding for mitigation projects.
Further information is in the NOFO: DHS-18-MT-047-000-99 and FY 2018 PDM Fact Sheet.
MT eGrants Helpdesk: 1-855-228-3362 or email: MTeGrants@fema.dhs.gov 


Contact Information

Lora Lipscomb, Public Information Officer: lora.d.lipscomb@wv.gov