West Virginia State Emergency Response Commission (WVSERC)

chem1_barrysmith WEBSITE !.jpg

The Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) was passed by Congress in 1986. EPCRA was included as Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) and is sometimes referred to as SARA Title III. EPCRA provides for the collection and availability of information regarding the use, storage, production and release of hazardous chemicals to the public and emergency responders in your community. The law promotes a working relationship among government at all levels, business and community leaders, environmental and other public interest organizations, and individual citizens to improve hazard communications and emergency planning. The EPCRA was passed by Congress in 1986.
The WVSERC shall consist of eleven members, including the director of the division of environmental protection, the commissioner of the division of public health, the chief of the office of air quality of the division of environmental protection, the director of the office of emergency services, the superintendent of the division of public safety, the commissioner of the division of highways; one designee of the public service commission and one designee of the state fire marshal, all of whom are members ex officio. A representative from the chemical industry, a representative of a municipal or volunteer fire department and a representative of the public who is knowledgeable in the area of emergency response shall be appointed by the governor as public members of the state emergency response commission. The director of the office of emergency services serves as the chair of the commission and may cast a vote only in the event of a tie vote. Members serve without compensation, but shall be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses actually incurred in the performance of their duties under this article. The initial public members appointed by the governor shall serve for a term ending on the first day of July, one thousand nine hundred ninety-one. A successor to a public member of the commission shall be appointed in the same manner as the original public members and has a term of office expiring two years from the date of the expiration of the term for which his or her predecessor was appointed. In cases of any vacancy among the public members, such vacancy shall be filled by appointment by the governor. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy on the commission occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his or her predecessor was appointed shall be appointed for the remainder of such term. Members appointed by the governor may be removed by the governor in case of incompetency, neglect of duty, gross immorality or malfeasance in office.
WVSERC appoints members of the Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPC) of each emergency planning district. In West Virginia, each county has been designated as its own emergency planning district or combined to form a dual LEPC.  The LEPC members include representatives from each of the following groups or organizations: elected state and local officials; law enforcement; emergency management; fire fighting; first aid, hospitals and health; local environmental authorities; transportation; broadcast and/or print media; community groups; and owners and operators of subject facilities.
The mission of the WVSERC and the LEPCs is to implement the EPCRA and to mitigate the effects of a release or spill of natural or man-made hazardous materials through developing response plans, including Preparedness, Notification and Warning, and Public Protective Measures. On October 17, 1986, in response to concerns for safety around chemical facilities, Congress enacted the EPCRA, also known as Title III of the SARA. The Act has had a far-reaching influence on issues relating to hazardous materials.   
WVSERC Commission Members (Valid October 25, 2018)  
Mr. Michael Todorovich, Chair
Director, WV Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
Mr. Robert Sharp, Vice Chair
WV State Fire Marshal’s Office
Mr. Alan Abbott
WV Public Service Commission
Mr. Jesse Adkins
Office of Air Quality
WV Division of Environmental Protection
Mr. Gregory Bailey
WV Division of Highways
Sgt. Stewart Harper
WV State Police
Special Operations/Executive Officer
Mr. Walter Ivey
WV Emergency Medical Services
WV Department of Health and Human Resources
Mr. Rusty Joins
Homeland Security and Emergency Response
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Mr. Bernard Marshall
Braskem America, Inc
Chemical Company Representative
Mr. Roy McCallister
WV Department of Agriculture
Representative of Public Knowledgeable in Emergency Response
Mr. Rob Miller
Municipal or Volunteer Fire Department Representative
Ms. Lisa Paxton
SERC Financial Coordinator
WV Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management

WVSERC Meetings

Approved - Meeting Minutes August 22, 2019 - 08-22-19 Minutes.pdf08-22-19 Minutes.pdf
Draft - Meeting Minutes October 3, 2019 - 10-03-19 Draft Minutes.pdf10-03-19 Draft Minutes.pdf

Next Meeting November 19, 2019  - WVDEP Headquarters, West Virginia Room, Charleston, WV

Contact:  Michael Todorovich
West Virginia Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
1703 Coonskin Drive
Charleston, WV 25311